Go Back   RCShortCourse.com Bulletin Board > ShortCourse General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Loading

Like Tree8Likes

Thread: What does 4-pole mean ?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2011, 04:04 PM   #1
Basher
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 60
Default What does 4-pole mean ?

I see a new series of bl motors with 4-pole design. Not sure what this is or does to motor power ? How would it be different than my Novak 4.5 HV to drive ? Just curious if anyone can help explain.

My current motor is Novak 3525 and running a Havoc Pro esc. ---> Link Brushless Motor Spec Chart
huffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-10-2011, 08:44 PM   #2
Racer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 104
Default

it means Google
amagad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:11 PM   #3
Basher
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagad View Post
it means Google
Wow...real helpful there, einstein !
huffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:21 PM   #4
Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buffalo Grove IL
Posts: 581
Default

A 4 pole will have more torque than a 2 pole of the same KV
huffster likes this.
qZOMBIExTUNAp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:48 PM   #5
SC Specialist
 
SoupSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,082
Default

A 2 pole motor has 1 North and 1 South pole on the rotor.

4 pole has 2 north poles and 2 south poles on the rotor.
SoupSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 08:54 AM   #6
Basher
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qZOMBIExTUNAp View Post
A 4 pole will have more torque than a 2 pole of the same KV

That's the kinds of info that I was looking for...Thank you Zombie Tuna !
huffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 01:55 PM   #7
Racer
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 175
Default

They also tend to be more efficient, lighter (because MOST are 540 cans, rather than the heavier 550s), cooler, and smoother.... especially if you run the sensored 4-poles with a sensored ESC...
BlueGlowBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 03:09 PM   #8
SC Specialist
 
SoupSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,082
Default

4 pole versus 2 pole motors

What‘s the difference?

N & S has to share 180 degree in 2-pole motor and only 90 degree in 4-pole motor, thus 4-pole motor has more balanced torque and higher power frequency, this will create advantage of power output under higher loading.

What makes a motor have speed?
2-pole motor provides better high speed performance.

What makes a motor have torque?
4-pole motor provides better torque under same Kv rating with 2-pole motor.

Slot designs versus slotless
?
Slotted brushless motor can provide higher torque and brake by inducting magnetic force to rotor from stator; slotless design fits better when motor is required to rotate smoothly.

Stator – Sizes, Slots, Laminations, Wye & Delta winds, KV versus turns?
Larger the stator means more torque it can generate, however larger diameter creates longer magnet circuit and generate more torque when numbers of slot is increasing, but the key of torque is based on total unit area of magnet circuit because there will be several factors to cause the loss of torque, such as copper wires resistance, magnetic hysteresis from phase change, Foucault currents and internal resistances.

Wye and Delta winding has no distinctive difference under same Kv rating of brushless motor since they are having similar resistance and inductance. As for the relationship of Kv rating and Turns, more turns result lower Kv due to less rated current.

Hope that helps!
SoupSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 03:20 PM   #9
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 455
Default

Soup..........you just blew my mind sir!
S14juggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 05:49 PM   #10
SC Specialist
 
SoupSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S14juggalo View Post
Soup..........you just blew my mind sir!
If you guys have more questions let me know.
SoupSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 06:08 PM   #11
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 455
Default

I have a million questions. But theres only one I'm waiting for and its about a 4pole.
S14juggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 06:20 PM   #12
SC Specialist
 
SoupSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S14juggalo View Post
I have a million questions. But theres only one I'm waiting for and its about a 4pole.
This one?

Click the image to open in full size.
SoupSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 06:49 PM   #13
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 455
Default

Yeah buddy that's the one! R52?
S14juggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 06:57 PM   #14
SC Specialist
 
SoupSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S14juggalo View Post
Yeah buddy that's the one! R52?
That's the one! I took it pavement diving over the weekend, woooeee!!
SoupSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:03 PM   #15
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 455
Default

Those street fighters look sick. Do i see 4s on that scte sir?
S14juggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:15 PM   #16
SC Specialist
 
SoupSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S14juggalo View Post
Those street fighters look sick. Do i see 4s on that scte sir?
Those things have insane traction!!! And that would be Eagle Tree it's a data logger. This is the one we use - Eagle Tree –R/C RPV RC Heli Model Aircraft Telemetry data logger GPS logger GPS telemetry MicroPower elogger e-logger RC Model Airplane Telemetry jet ECU telemetry Eagletree MicroPower Wireless Telemetry RC data logger Flight Data Recorder high
SoupSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:24 PM   #17
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: dayton, ohio
Posts: 455
Default

Hey soup......new feature for proguage? Along with temp and kv reader?
S14juggalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:30 PM   #18
SC Specialist
 
SoupSpoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S14juggalo View Post
Hey soup......new feature for proguage? Along with temp and kv reader?
I use it for testing new systems, see how many amps, watts and mah's the systems pull. We do it for every new product we have coming out. It gives us some visual indication to what's going on.

We talked about the temp reader and kv meter, if we can make it happen we will. We have so much good stuff planned over the next year it's hard to pick what project we get to tackle next.
SoupSpoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:31 PM   #19
Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,618
Default

Soup,

Do you have any datalogging for the motors you have tested recently that you wish to share ?

Cheers
crusey_aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 07:37 PM   #20
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vancouver island
Posts: 677
Default

Hey Soup,

Is viper developing a new esc for the 550 and new B52 motors? One that can handle the demands of heavy SC trucks. Really interested in Viper products just curious if that is in the making....
bubu1.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2007 RCShortcourse.com